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Date of Hearing: April 24, 2019

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION
Patrick O'Donnell, Chair
AB 125 (McCarty) — As Amended April 1, 2019

[Note: This bill was double referred to the Assembly Human Services Committee and was
heard by that Committee as it relates to issues under its jurisdiction.]

SUBJECT: Early childhood education: reimbursement rates

SUMMARY: Revises the state’s system and rates for reimbursing subsidized child care and
development programs to create a more uniform reimbursement system reflecting regional costs
of care, and establishes the “Quality Counts California Pilot Reimbursement Program” as a pilot
program to provide higher reimbursement rates to alternative payment program providers (APP)
for meeting certain quality standards. Specifically, this bill:

1) Revises and recasts the requirement placed on the Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI)
to implement a reimbursement system plan establishing standards and reimbursement rates
for subsidized child care and development programs by, in addition to current-law
requirements:

a) Specifying that the assigned reimbursement rates must vary with the regional
reimbursement ceiling, as specified.

b) Requiring the assigned reimbursement rates to vary with a quality adjustment factor to
address the cost of staffing ratios, as specified.

c) Stating that the assigned reimbursement rates must vary with an additional adjustment
factors, as specified.

2) Requires the reimbursement system plan, including the methodology, standards, county rate
targets established by the SPI, and the total statewide funding amount necessary to reach
annual rate targets for all agencies, to be submitted to the Joint Legislative Budget
Committee by November 10 of each year.

3) Requires the California Department of Education (CDE) to, by July 1, 2020, establish a
reimbursement rate target for each contracting agency that meets quality standards, as
specified, and any related regulations, based on the following elements:

a) The regional market rate (RMR) ceilings for the agency’s county, as specified, if
applicable.

b) The quality adjustment factor, proposed by provisions of this bill, for the age range of
children proposed to be served by the contracting agency, as a multiplier.

c) The program year and hours-of-service reimbursement factor, as specified, if applicable.
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d) Additional adjustment factors for special circumstances or services, as specified in
current law.

Prohibits a contracting agency’s rate target from being less than that agency’s 2017 rate, by
age range.

Requires CDE, in order to meet the costs of providing quality standards, as specified, and any
related regulations beyond those calculated in the regional market rate survey, to establish
quality adjustment factors by age range, requiring the adjustment factors to be:

a) 1.23 for infants who are zero to 18 months old.

b) 1.23 for toddlers who are 18 to 36 months old.

c) 1.23 for preschoolers who are 36 months to 6 years old.

d) 1.03 for schoolage children who are 6 years of age or older.

Requires the reimbursement system plan to include a formula for annually adjusting
reimbursement rates for each agency, based on the following:

a) The annual Budget Act funding allocated for standard reimbursement rate (SRR)
increases.

b) An equitable distribution of SRR increases to agencies, by county, as an equal percentage
of the county outstanding rate target, for purposes of meeting the targets identified by
provisions of this bill.

c) Funding allocated for cost-of-living adjustments, if applicable.

Reduces the reimbursement rate for child care and development providers serving children
for less than four hours per day from 55% of the SRR to 50% of the SRR.

Requires the Regional Market Rate (RMR) to be at least the 85th percentile of the 2018
regional market rate survey for that region.

Prohibits the license-exempt provider rate from exceeding 70% of the commensurate rate,
such as hourly, daily, weekly, and monthly, for both full-time and part-time care, as
specified.

10) Requires CDE to contract to conduct a RMR survey once every two years with a goal of

completion by March 1%, Also requires the CDE to update the RMR survey methodology to
include age ranges and hours-of-service ranges, pursuant to provisions of this bill, and to
include direction for the survey to mitigate the impact of contractors located in deep-poverty
census tracts on the market profile or county rate.

11) Requires the CDE to create a “Quality Counts California Pilot Reimbursement Program,”

and states Legislative intent that this pilot program allow childcare providers subject to
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RMRs to receive higher reimbursement rates and to meet higher quality standards for child
development, as specified.

12) Sets for the following requirements regarding the Quality Counts California Pilot

Reimbursement Program:

a) Requires the CDE to establish and measure quality standards, as specified, that must be
met by childcare providers participating in the pilot program.

b) Requires the CDE to select up to five alternative payment program (APP) childcare
systems, representing the broad geographic diversity of the state and to participate in the
pilot program.

c) Requires each APP child care system selected by the CDE to participate in the pilot
program to allow licensed child care providers serving at least a majority of children
receiving subsidized child care, as specified, to participate.

13) Makes technical and conforming changes.

EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

Establishes the “Child Care and Development Services Act” to provide childcare and
development services as part of a coordinated, comprehensive, and cost-effective system
serving children from birth to 13 years old and their parents, including a full range of
supervision, health, and support services through full- and part-time programs. (EC 8200 et

seq.)

Defines “childcare and development services” to mean services designed to meet a wide
variety of children’s and families’ needs while parents and guardians are working, in
training, seeking employment, incapacitated, or in need of respite and states that these
services may include direct care supervision, instructional activities, resource and referral
programs, and alternative payment arrangements. (EC 8208)

States the intent of the Legislature that all families have access to childcare and development
services, through resource and referral where appropriate, and regardless of demographic
background or special needs, and that families are provided the opportunity to attain financial
stability through employment, while maximizing growth and development of their children
and enhancing their parenting skills through participation in childcare and development
programs. (EC 8202)

Requires the SPI to administer general childcare and development programs to include,
among other things as specified, age- and developmentally-appropriate activities,
supervision, parenting education and involvement, and nutrition. Further allows such
programs to be designed to meet child-related needs identified by parents or guardians, as
specified. (EC 8240 and 8241)

Requires families to meet certain criteria in order to be eligible for federal and state
subsidized child development services, including that a family must be either a current aid
recipient, income eligible, homeless, or one whose children are recipients of protective
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services or have been identified as being, or at risk of being, abused, or neglected, as
specified. (EC 8263)

6) Requires the SPI to implement a plan that establishes reasonable standards and assigned
reimbursement rates for childcare and development services, to vary by length of program
year and hours of service, and establishes amounts for, and provides for an annual cost-of-
living adjustment to, the SRR for contracted providers, and provides for adjustments to the
SRR based upon specified reimbursement factors. (EC 8265 and 8266.1)

7) Provides for the establishment of Regional Market Rate (RMR) ceilings for voucher-based
childcare, and states Legislative intent that childcare providers be reimbursed at the 85th
percentile of the most recent RMR survey. (EC 8222, 8357, 8447)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS: Need for the bill. According to the author, “Currently, the state has two
different reimbursement rate systems for early education providers, the SRR and the RMR.
These rate systems are not aligned and have resulted in inequities in funding across the state.
This proposal would create one reimbursement rate system based on the cost of providing care in
different settings, recognizing regional cost differences and providing incentives for increased
quality. The estimated cost of this proposal is between $550 million to $750 million and would
be funded over eight years.

In the last four budget years, the state has increased slots for California State Preschool Program,
General Child Care, and Alternative Payment Program. In order to make these slots viable, the
state has to pay providers and teachers better. Childcare providers and early learning teachers are
consistently and woefully underpaid. AB 125 will establish a single regionalized reimbursement
rate system for subsidized childcare and preschool, which will ensure teachers and providers are
paid better for the services provided.”

Background. The main state and/or federally funded early care and education programs serving
children and families in California include, but are not limited to, the following:

e General Child Care and Development Programs include center-based or family childcare
home care, provide part or full-time care for children from 0-5 years and out-of-school
care for school age children up to age 13 from income eligible families who have a need
for care.

e Alternative Payment Programs (APP) provide voucher-based child care subsidies to low-
income parents to access child care through a wide range of providers. Includes vouchers
offered through California’s state welfare program, California Work Opportunity and
Responsibility to Kids (CalWORK(Ss), those for working families, as well as programs
specifically for migrant children.

e California State Preschool Program (CSPP) provides center-based preschool for three and
four year old children from income eligible families.

e Head Start and Early Head Start are federally-funded preschool and child development
programs serving children from families with incomes below the federal poverty level,
and offer education, child care, extensive family engagement, and wraparound services.
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In the 2018-19 fiscal year, there are 182,347 subsidized childcare slots offered across the various
programs, and 168,478 preschool slots through the CSPP.

Reimbursement rates: Two different sets of rate schedules apply to providers of subsidized
childcare. For programs utilizing vouchers, which allow families to access child care through
their choice of a licensed day care center, a licensed family child care home, or license-exempt
child care (typically, care provided by a family, friend, or neighbor who has passed a background
check), providers are reimbursed using the RMR. This rate is based on a biannual RMR survey
of the cost of childcare in various geographical regions across the state. RMR rate ceilings are
currently established at the 75th percentile of the 2016 RMR survey for a county, unless that
ceiling is lower than the ceiling existing on December 31, 2017. RMR ceilings for license-
exempt providers are set at the 70th percentile of a county’s established RMR ceiling for family
child care homes. These rates vary significantly from one county to another, reflecting
differences in the cost of care. This table illustrates differences in the full-time daily rate for
children from birth to 24 months:

Childcare Setting Fresno County Los Angeles County | Alameda County
Childcare center $72.73 $96.53 $114.06
Family childcare home $45.53 $54.40 $72.20
License-exempt care $31.87 $39.48 $50.54

Providers of contracted care — childcare and development programs and CSPPs that contract
directly with CDE, as opposed to voucher-based care — are reimbursed according to a uniform
statewide rate system based on the SRR. The fiscal year 2018-19 SRR for General Child Care is
$47.98 per child per day of enrollment or $11,995 per year based on 250 days of operation.
However, acknowledging the higher costs associated with providing care to certain populations,
state law provides for “adjustment factors” to be multiplied by child days of enrollment to arrive
at an adjusted SRR. For example, the adjustment factor for infants (birth to 18 months) is
currently 2.07, meaning that the per-child-per-day SRR is $47.98 times 2.07 — or, $99.32. The
adjustment factor will be 2.44 for the 2019-20 fiscal year.

Differing standards. VVoucher programs funded under the RMR are required to meet Title 22
standards, while direct contracted programs must meet both Title 22 as well as Title 5
requirements. The additional requirements under Title 5 include lower adult-to-child ratios,
increased staff education and training, and child assessments, all of which contribute to higher
costs. The current reimbursement system funds these programs with higher standards at a lower
rate with no consideration for regional cost differences. The per child SRR rate, regardless of
county or provider costs, is still about two dollars less than the lowest county RMR in the state.

Assembly Blue Ribbon Commission on Early Childhood Education: The Assembly Blue
Ribbon Commission on Early Childhood Education (BRC) was established with the intent to
“plan an early learning system that works for/meets the needs of children, families, and
providers.” The BRC, consisting of members appointed from the Assembly and stakeholders,
began its work in early 2017, holding quarterly hearings and establishing subcommittees.
Quarterly hearings and subcommittee meetings continued during 2018, and work was done to
develop BRC recommendations. On March 11, 2019, draft recommendations were released.
One set of recommendations was related to reimbursement rates, concluding that:
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The BRC concurs with the multi-step Recommendations of the Reimbursement Rates
Working Group convened by First 5 to establish a framework in which all subsidized
programs shall be reimbursed on the same regionalized pay scale which tiers up for quality.
Recommendations include implementation of comprehensive rate reform through a multistep
process:

1) First, bridge the SRR and the RMR together. Then reform the RMR survey methodology
to create a tiered reimbursement system that can incentivize and reimburse for quality
and quality improvement efforts across different program types and incentivize full day
programs. Throughout this multistep process, all programs should be held harmless.

2) Address equity issues by refining the RMR survey and future rate-setting methodologies.
The use of socio-demographic characteristics to set rates through market profiles
exacerbates inequality and institutionalizes low reimbursement rates for providers that
serve children and families in low-income counties.

3) Move towards a heavier emphasis on the true cost of providing quality child care,
preschool, and early learning experiences.

Arguments in support. First 5 California states that “California has two different and unaligned
systems for funding the state’s early learning services. Child care providers meeting Title 22
standards are reimbursed using a RMR that accounts for geographic economic cost factors, while
directly state-contracted early learning centers that meet Title 5 standards, in addition to Title 22
standards, are reimbursed at a flat SRR. This unaligned, two-system approach limits access, fails
to maximize program quality, and is forcing many child care providers out of business in
California.

To address the problems of a bifurcated rate system, resource expenditure should be streamlined
and expended in a way that: 1) compensates teachers and programs for the cost of providing
care, 2) is responsive to the economic diversity of California, 3) recognizes the costs of meeting
varying quality standards, regulations, and contracting burdens, and 4) incentivizes quality and
participation in research-based quality improvement efforts as a means to improve child
outcomes.

AB 125 would establish a single regionalized state reimbursement rate system for child care,
preschool, and early learning services that would achieve these four goals. Through these
reforms, California can achieve a more equitable system to support children and families and
maximize public benefit.”

Prior and related legislation. SB 174 (Leyva) of 2019 is currently identical to this bill. SB 174
is pending in the Senate Education Committee.

AB 2125 (Ridley-Thomas) of the 2013-14 Session would have required the SPI to review the
plan that establishes standards and assigns reimbursement rates for child care and development
programs, and to submit recommendations for a single reimbursement system that reflects the
actual current cost of child care based on the most recent regional market rate survey. AB 2125
was held in the Senate Appropriations Committee.
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REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

California Alternative Payment Program Association
California Children And Families Commission

California Coalition For Early Learning

California Family Resource Association

California Federation of Teachers

Cambridge Community Center

Child Care Alliance of Los Angeles

Child Care Resource Center

Child360

Children And Families Commission of Los Angeles County
Children Now

Community Child Care Council of Sonoma County

Early Edge California

EveryChild California

First 5 California

First 5 Lake County

First 5 Sacramento

First 5 San Benito

First 5 San Bernardino

First 5 Santa Clara County

Fraser Communications

League of Women Voters Of California

Los Angeles County Office of Education

Oakland Unified School District

Office of The Riverside County Superintendent Of Schools
Riverside County Public K-12 School District Superintendents
United Domestic Workers Of America-AFSCME Local 3930/AFL-CIO

Opposition
None on file

Analysis Prepared by: Debbie Look / ED. /(916) 319-2087



