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Date of Hearing:   January 12, 2022 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 

Patrick O'Donnell, Chair 

AB 452 (Friedman) – As Amended January 3, 2022 

SUBJECT:  Pupil safety:  parental notification:  firearm safety laws 

SUMMARY:  Requires local educational agencies (LEAs) to annually inform parents or 

guardians of enrolled pupil of California’s child access prevention laws and laws relating to the 

safe storage of firearms. Specifically, this bill:   

1) Requires LEAs to inform parents or guardians of enrolled pupils of California’s child access 

prevention laws and laws relating to the safe storage of firearms, at the beginning of each 

semester or quarter, as specified. 

2) Requires the CDE, in consultation with the Department of Justice (DOJ), to develop, by July 

1, 2023, concise content for the required notice and to share the content with all LEAs, as 

well as upon request from private schools.  

3) Requires the CDE, in consultation with the DOJ, to update the content for the required notice 

as necessary for any changes in the law by July 1, 2024 and each July 1st thereafter. 

4) Requires the CDE to share the original content of the notices as well as any updates with all 

LEAs, and upon request from any private school. 

5) Establishes immunity from civil liability for LEAs and private schools for any damages 

arising out of these notification and content requirements. 

6) Defines LEAs as school districts, county offices of education (COEs), and charter schools. 

7) Defines a private school as a person, firm, association, partnership, or corporation offering or 

conducting private school instruction. 

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Provides that a person is guilty of criminal storage of a firearm if the person keeps a loaded 

firearm within a premises with knowledge that a child is likely to gain access to the firearm.  

(Penal Code (PEN) 25100.) 

 

2) Makes it a crime to keep a handgun within a premises with knowledge that a child or person 

prohibited from possessing a firearm is likely to gain access if the child or prohibited person 

obtains access to the handgun and carries it off premises. (PEN 25200.)   

3) Requires licensees to conspicuously post within the licensed premises the following 

warnings, among others, in block letters not less than one inch in height:  

 

a) Firearms must be handled responsibly and securely stored to prevent access by children 

and other unauthorized users. California has strict laws pertaining to firearms, and you 

may be fined or imprisoned if you fail to comply with them. Visit the website of the 
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California Attorney General at https://oag.ca.gov/firearms for information on firearm 

laws applicable to you and how you can comply; 

 

b) If you keep a firearm within any premises under your custody or control, and a person 

under 18 years of age obtains it and uses it, resulting in injury or death, or carries it to a 

public place, you may be guilty of a misdemeanor or a felony unless you stored the 

firearm in a locked container or locked the firearm with a locking device to keep it from 

temporarily functioning; 

 

c) Children may be unable to distinguish firearms from toys and may operate firearms, 

causing severe injuries or death. If you keep a firearm within any premises under your 

custody or control, and a person under 18 years of age gains access to the firearm and 

carries it off-premises, you may be guilty of a misdemeanor, unless you stored the 

firearm in a locked container, or locked the firearm with a locking device to keep it from 

temporarily functioning; 

 

d) You may be guilty of a misdemeanor, including a significant fine or imprisonment, if you 

keep a firearm where a minor is likely to access it or if a minor obtains and improperly 

uses it, or carries it off of the premises to a school or school-sponsored event, unless you 

stored the firearm in a locked container or locked the firearm with a locking device; and 

 

e) If you negligently store or leave a firearm within any premises under your custody or 

control where a person under 18 years of age is likely to access it, you may be guilty of a 

misdemeanor, including a significant fine, unless you stored the firearm in a locked 

container or locked the firearm with a locking device.” (PEN 26835) 

4) Requires governing boards of school districts to notify parents and guardians of minor pupils 

of specified items at the beginning of the first semester or quarter of the regular school term. 

(Education Code (EC) 48980) 

 

FISCAL EFFECT:  The Office of Legislative Counsel has keyed this bill as a possible state-

mandated local program. 

COMMENTS:   

Need for the bill. According to the author, “AB 452 is a reintroduction of AB 276 from last year 

to ensure that firearms are safely stored away from children and teens. Guns are the third leading 

cause of death for kids in America. 75% of school shootings are facilitated by kids having access 

to unsecured and/or unsupervised guns at home. Every day, 8 children and teens are shot in 

instances of family fire — a shooting involving an improperly stored or misused gun found in the 

home resulting in injury or death. Unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic has only exacerbated 

this problem. Suicide rates are up in school-age children as they are spending longer periods of 

time unsupervised at home while experiencing increased levels of social isolation and depression 

with no access to the critical mental health services provided by their schools. This is a 

recommendation from State Superintendent Tony Thurmond and Los Angeles City Attorney 

Mike Feuer. The following school districts have either passed resolutions in support of a 

notification or already do the annual notifications: Los Angeles, San Diego, Glendale, Manhattan 

Beach, Culver City, Penn Valley, and Stockton. However, in order to keep kids and schools safe, 

a notification must be sent to every parent across the state on an annual basis.” 
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Minors access to firearms in their homes. Recent data suggests that 30% of American adults 

personally own a gun, and an additional 11% say they live with someone who does (Gramlich  

2019). Approximately 7% of U.S. children, or 4.6 million children, live in homes in which at 

least one firearm is stored loaded and unlocked (Azrael, 2018).  This represents a significant 

increase since 2002, when an estimated 1.6 million children were estimated to live in homes with 

at least one loaded and unlocked firearm.  

A study of children and parents in households containing guns found that 73% of children 

younger than 10 years old, and 79% of children between 10-14 years old, reported knowing the 

storage location of household guns. Conversely, 39% of parents reported their children did not 

know the storage location of household guns, and 22% reported that their children had never 

handled a household gun. These figures were contradicted by their children’s self-reports 

(Baxley, 2006).  

Firearms are the second leading cause of death among children and youth. Nearly 40,000 

Americans died of gun-related injuries in 2017, a 19% increase from 2012, and the highest 

annual total since the mid-1990s (Gramlich, 2019). Firearm-related injuries were the second 

leading cause of death among children and adolescents, with 3,143 deaths representing 15% of 

deaths among this age group (Cunningham, 2018). Of these, 59% were homicides, 35% were 

suicides, and 4% were unintentional injuries, such as accidental discharge of a firearm. Between 

2013 and 2016, there was a 28% increase in the rate of firearm deaths among children and 

adolescents. U.S. children and teens were 15 times more likely to die from a gun than children in 

31 other high-income countries combined.  

In 2017, gun violence claimed the lives of 3,410 children and teens in the U.S. Although Black 

children and teens made up 14% of this population, they accounted for 41% of all child and teen 

gun deaths in 2017. The gun death rate for Black children (11.2 deaths per 100,000) was nearly 

four times the rate for White children. American Indian/Alaskan Native children and teens had 

the second highest gun death rate at 5.6 deaths per 100,000 (Children’s Defense Fund 2019, 

based upon data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)). 

A total of 18,201 children and teens were injured by guns in 2017, representing an increase of 

6% from the prior year. Of these, 83% were the result of assaults, 15% were accidental, and 2% 

were self-inflicted. 

Firearms and school shootings. Although firearm violence in school settings makes up less than 

1% of all suicides and homicides among school-aged children and adolescents, recent data shows 

increasing trends in school shooting incidents from 35 in 2013 to 64 in 2015. Data from research 

conducted by the CDC in the 1990s on school-associated violent deaths among students found 

that the majority of the firearms used in these events were obtained from perpetrators’ homes or 

from friends or relatives. A federal report found that 68% of school shooters used guns from 

their own home or from the home of a relative (U.S. Secret Service, U.S. Department of 

Education, 2004).  

Benefits of child access prevention laws. According to the Giffords Law Center, child access 

prevention (CAP) laws impose criminal liability on adults who allow minors unsupervised access 

to firearms. A study that examined the impact of CAP laws over a four-year period found that in 

states where CAP laws had been in effect for at least one year, firearm deaths fell by 23% among 

children under 15 years of age (Cummings,1997). Another study found that CAP laws were 

associated with an 8% decrease in suicide among 14-17 year olds (Webster, 2004).  
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California actions to protect minors from unauthorized access to firearms. The California 

Department of Justice (DOJ) maintains information on its website relating to the need to keep 

firearms out of the hands of children and youth, including the following statement: “You may be 

guilty of a misdemeanor or a felony if you keep a loaded firearm within any premises that are 

under your custody or control and a child under 18 years of age obtains and uses it, resulting in 

injury or death, or carries it to a public place, unless you stored the firearm in a locked container 

or locked the firearm with a locking device to temporarily keep it from functioning.” 

Additionally, the DOJ website notes that “California recognizes the importance of safe storage 

by requiring that all firearms sold in California be accompanied by a DOJ-approved firearms 

safety device or proof that the purchaser owns a gun safe that meets regulatory standards.” 

In November of 2019, the Superintendent of Public Instruction released a letter to county and 

district superintendents and charter school administrators titled Safe Storage of Firearms and 

School Safety and Security, and included the following statements: “District and school 

administrators must help educate parents and guardians about California’s child access 

prevention laws… This is an urgent request to inform your school community about the law 

regarding safe storage of firearms. Sample templates (in English and Spanish) for memoranda to 

parents and guardians informing them of the laws in California regarding safe storage of firearms 

are available on the CDE Violence Prevention webpage. You may use these documents, or create 

your own, to help educate parents, guardians, and families of their legal responsibilities.” 

At a local level, the Los Angeles Unified School District Board of Education adopted a “Safe 

Gun Storage Measure in June of 2019, requiring that a letter be sent home to parents and 

guardians in English and Spanish, to inform them about laws pertaining to safe gun storage. The 

measure also requires parents to sign a letter each year acknowledging their understanding of 

their firearm storage responsibilities, and requires schools to maintain these documents on file in 

a central location for three years.  

Arguments in support. Brady United Against Gun Violence, sponsor of the bill, notes “Passing 

comprehensive standards for safety devices and storage is extremely important; however, we are 

missing a crucial step when we don’t take the time to educate the public, and in particular 

parents, about these lifesaving laws. Nearly 70% of student shooters gained access to a lawfully 

purchased gun from their residence or that of a relative, 87% of kids know where their parents’ 

guns are kept and 60% have handled them. Over 80% of teens who commit suicide with a gun 

used one that belonged to someone in their home, and guns are the third leading cause of death 

for kids. Unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic has only exacerbated this problem. Children 

are spending longer periods of time unsupervised at home while experiencing increased levels of 

social isolation and depression with no access to the critical mental health services provided by 

their schools.” 

 

Related legislation.  AB 276 (Friedman) of the 2019-20 Session was substantially similar to this 

bill. The content was amended to a subject outside of the jurisdiction of the Assembly Education 

Committee.  

SB 172 (Portantino), Chapter 840, Statutes of 2019, enacted a number of provisions related to 

firearms storage by broadening criminal storage crimes; adding criminal storage offenses to 

those offenses that can trigger a 10-year firearm ban; and creating an exemption to firearm loan 

requirements for the purposes of preventing suicide; among other changes. 
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AB 231 (Ting), Chapter 730, Statutes of 2013, created the crime of criminal storage in the third 

degree, which imposes liability if a person negligently stores or leaves a loaded firearm in a 

place where he or she knows, or reasonably should know, that a child is likely to access it.   

SB 9 (Soto), Chapter 126, Statutes of 2011, expanded the scope of the storage of firearm laws by 

changing the definition of a child from a person under the age of 16 to a person under the age of 

18, and created a misdemeanor for any person who negligently allows a child to access a firearm 

if the child then takes the firearm to school. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

American Academy of Pediatrics, California 

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention 

Brady Campaign California 

Brady Orange County 

Brady United Against Gun Violence, Ventura County Chapter 

California State PTA 

City Attorney Mike Feuer, City of Los Angeles 

City of Burbank 

City of Solana Beach 

Councilmember Paul Koretz, 5th District, City of Los Angeles 

Everytown for Gun Safety Action Fund 

Friends Committee on Legislation of California 

Generation Up 

Laguna Woods Democratic Club 

Los Angeles Unified Board Member, Scott Schmerelson, District 3 

Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America 

Monterey County Office of Education 

SafeStorageCa 

San Diegans for Gun Violence Prevention 

Students Demand Action for Gun Sense in America 

The Violence Prevention Coalition of Orange County 

Women Against Gun Violence 

Opposition 

None on file 
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