California



n 2008, the California State Preschool Program Act consolidated several early childhood initiatives into one funding stream, resulting in the California State Preschool Program (CSPP). CSPP encompasses: (1) the CSPP that began in 1965 and provided preschool services to children at risk for neglect, abuse, or family violence, or who were receiving protective services; (2) the Prekindergarten and Family Literacy Program (PKFLP), which began in 2007 and added a literacy component to CSPP; and (3) General Child Care programs. CSPP provides both part- and full-day preschool to 3- and 4-year-olds with a family income at or below 70% of the state median income. Children who are at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, receiving protective services, homeless, or receiving CalWORKS cash aid are also eligible to attend.

State spending on CSPP increased by \$45 million from the 2015-2016 to 2016-2017 school year due to funding shifts enabling all CSPP programs operated by local educational agencies to be funded entirely by Proposition 98 with state funding. Federal funding decreased but there was a net increase in total spending. CSPP awards funding through a competitive application process to school districts, private and faith-based agencies, and Head Start programs. Children are served in either full-day or part-day programs, depending on family eligibility and need. Children must remain eligible throughout the year to receive full-day services but can remain in part-day programs regardless of changes to eligibility. Teachers are required to have California Child Development Associate Teacher Permits, and can receive grants for professional learning. CSPP classrooms receive structured quality observations using the Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale, Revised Edition (ECERS-R) at least once a year.

California transitional kindergarten (TK) began during the 2012-2013 school year as a result of California's Kindergarten Readiness Act of 2010 which moved the kindergarten eligibility age from December 2 to September 1 so that all children would be 5 years old when entering kindergarten. TK was also authorized as part of California's Kindergarten Readiness Act of 2010 and is the first year of a two-year kindergarten program for children born between September 2 and December 2. In June 2015 an amendment was made which may allow children who turn 5 years old after the December 2 date to attend TK at the beginning of the school year if the local educational agency chooses to implement this change. However, the average daily attendance may not be collected until these early-admitted children attain the age of 5. TK follows kindergarten regulations for class size, teacher qualifications, standards, funding, and serving English language learners. TK is profiled as a separate preschool program for the second time in this report.

The California Preschool Learning Foundations, which provide guidance to both CSPP and TK, are aligned with the Common Core State Standards, California Infant and Toddler Learning and Development Foundations, California Content Standards, and the Head Start Child Development and Early Learning Framework. Using various local and state funding sources, the California Quality Rating and Improvement System (CA-QRIS) Consortium was established to continue the work done through California's Federal Race to the Top-Early Learning Challenge (RTT-ELC) grant. The RTT-ELC grant charged the Regional Leadership Consortia with incorporating a locally driven QRIS to improve the quality of early learning programs throughout the state. The goal of the QRIS is to ensure that children in California have access to high-quality programs so they thrive in their early learning settings and succeed in kindergarten and beyond. The CA-QRIS Consortium strives to improve the quality of early learning in three areas of program quality: child development and readiness for school, teachers and teaching, and program and environment quality. The \$50 million dedicated to the CSPP QRIS Block Grant is intended to build on the local QRIS efforts of current lead agencies and their consortia and to raise the quality of CSPP.

California's overall support for state-funded preschool, including enrollment and funding for both CSPP and TK, is depicted in the first two pages of this state profile. The third page focuses solely on CSPP and the fourth page provides information on TK.

CALIFORNIA STATE OVERVIEW

ACCESS

Total state pre-K enrollment	235,651
Special education enrollment, ages 3 and 4	
Federally funded Head Start enrollment, ages 3 and 4	75,149
State-funded Head Start enrollment, ages 3 and 4	0



[†] Some Head Start children may also be counted in state pre-K. ^{††} Estimates children in special education not also enrolled in state pre-K or Head Start.

RESOURCES

Total state pre-K spending	\$1,490,527,786
State Head Start spending	\$0
State spending per child enrolled	\$6,325
All reported spending per child enrolled*	\$6,501

SPENDING PER CHILD ENROLLED



* Pre-K programs may receive additional funds from federal or local sources that are not included in this figure.

** Head Start per-child spending includes funding only for 3- and 4-year-olds.

*** K-12 expenditures include capital spending as well as current operating expenditures.

ACCESS RANKINGS		RESOURCE RANKINGS		IMARKS MET
4-YEAR-OLDS 3-YEAR-OLDS	STATE SPENDING	ALL REPORTED SPENDING	CURRENT STANDARDS	NEW STANDARDS
14 8	3	21	43	43
			A second	A so there

CALIFORNIA STATE PRESCHOOL PROGRAM

ACCESS

Total state pre-K enrollment	
School districts that offer state program	97% (counties/parishes)
Income requirement	70% SMI
Minimum hours of operation	3 hours/day; 5 days/week
Operating schedule	Determined locally

STATE PRE-K AND HEAD START ENROLLMENT AS PERCENTAGE OF TOTAL POPULATION



📕 CA SPP 📕 CA TK 📕 Head Start† 📕 Special Ed†† 📕 Other/None [†] Some Head Start children may also be counted in state pre-K. ^{††} Estimates children in special education not also enrolled in state pre-K or Head Start.

			MEETS		
POLICY	CA SPP REQUIREMENT	CURRENT BENCHMARK	CURRENT BENCHMARK?	NEW BENCHMARK	MEETS NEW BENCHMARK?
Early learning & development standards	Comprehensive, aligned, supported, culturally sensitive	Comprehensive		Comprehensive, aligned, supported, culturally sensitive	
Curriculum supports	Approval process & supports	New in 2015-2016	—	Approval process & supports	
Teacher degree	California Child Development Associate Teacher Permit	BA		ВА	
Teacher specialized training	ECE, CD	Specializing in pre-K		Specializing in pre-K	
Assistant teacher degree	HSD	CDA or equivalent		CDA or equivalent	
Staff professional development	105 hours/5 years	For teachers: At least 15 hours/year		For teachers & assistants: At least 15 hours/year; individual PD plans; coaching	
Maximum class size	No limit (3- & 4-year-olds)	20 or lower		20 or lower	
Staff-child ratio	1:8 (3- & 4-year-olds)	1:10 or better	\checkmark	1:10 or better	\checkmark
Screening & referral	Vision, hearing, health & more; Support services	Vision, hearing, health & at least one support service		Vision, hearing & health screenings; & referral	
Meals	Depends on length of program day	At least one meal/day		Discontinued	_
Monitoring/ Continuous quality improvement system	Structured classroom observations; Data used for program improvement	Site visits		Structured classroom observation; program improvement plan	
			6		6

QUALITY STANDARDS CHECKLIST

RESOURCES

Total state pre-K spending	\$776,788,042
Local match required?	No
State spending per child enrolled	\$5,759
All reported spending per child enrolled*	\$6,067

Pre-K programs may receive additional funds from federal or local sources that are not included in this figure.

** Head Start per-child spending includes funding only for 3- and 4-year-olds.

*** K-12 expenditures include capital spending as well as current operating expenditures.





CALIFORNIA TRANSITIONAL KINDERGARTEN (TK)

ACCESS

Total state pre-K enrollment	
School districts that offer state program	100% (counties/parishes)
Income requirement	No income requirement
Minimum hours of operation	3 hours/day; 5 days/week
Operating schedule	School or academic year

STATE PRE-K AND HEAD START ENROLLMENT AS PERCENTAGE OF TOTAL POPULATION



[†] Some Head Start children may also be counted in state pre-K. ^{††} Estimates children in special education not also enrolled in state pre-K or Head Start.

POLICY	CA TK REQUIREMENT	CURRENT BENCHMARK	MEETS CURRENT BENCHMARK?	NEW BENCHMARK	MEETS NEW BENCHMARK?
Early learning & development standards	Comprehensive, aligned with other state standards, supported, culturally sensitive	Comprehensive		Comprehensive, aligned, supported, culturally sensitive	
Curriculum supports	Approval process & supports	New in 2015-2016	_	Approval process & supports	
Teacher degree	BA	BA		BA	
Teacher specialized training	ECE, CD, Elementary Ed	Specializing in pre-K		Specializing in pre-K	
Assistant teacher degree	HSD	CDA or equivalent		CDA or equivalent	
Staff professional development	Determined locally	For teachers: At least 15 hours/year		For teachers & assistants: At least 15 hours/year; individual PD plans; coaching	
Maximum class size	33 (4-year-olds)	20 or lower		20 or lower	
Staff-child ratio	1:33 (4-year-olds)	1:10 or better		1:10 or better	
Screening & referral	Support services	Vision, hearing, health & at least one support service		Vision, hearing & health screenings; & referral	
Meals	Depends on FRPL status	At least one meal/day		Discontinued	_
Monitoring/ Continuous quality improvement system	Monitoring data used for program improvement	Site visits		Structured classroom observation; program improvement plan	
			2		a

QUALITY STANDARDS CHECKLIST

RESOURCES

Total state pre-K spending	\$713,739,744
Local match required?	No
State spending per child enrolled	\$7,083
All reported spending per child enrolled*	\$7,083

Pre-K programs may receive additional funds from federal or local sources that are not included in this figure.

** Head Start per-child spending includes funding only for 3- and 4-year-olds.

*** K-12 expenditures include capital spending as well as current operating expenditures.

