Date of Hearing: June 29, 2022

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION Patrick O'Donnell, Chair SB 1047 (Limón) – As Amended March 9, 2022

[Note: This bill is double referred to the Assembly Human Services Committee and was heard by that Committee as it relates to issues under its jurisdiction.]

SENATE VOTE: 35-0

SUBJECT: Early learning and care

SUMMARY: Authorizes California State Preschool Program (CSPP) providers to serve children from 18 months up to three-years old, until January 1, 2029; expands eligibility criteria for subsidized childcare programs administered by both the California Department of Education (CDE) and the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to include those families eligible for means-tested government programs; and extends eligibility for subsidized childcare to 24 months. Specifically, **this bill**:

California State Preschool Program (CSPP)

- 1) Authorizes CSPP providers to enroll children from 18 months up to three-years old, in addition to the currently authorized three- and four-year old children, provided they meet all eligibility requirements, as specified.
- 2) Prohibits a local educational agency (LEA) operating a license-exempt CSPP from enrolling children other than four-year old children.
- 3) Aligns the reimbursement rate for children under three-years old enrolled in a CSPP to that of the rate that would apply to that child in a general childcare and development program.
- 4) Requires a CSPP provider to meet the minimum ratios applicable to each age group served, as specified.
- 5) Requires the CDE to submit a report to the Legislature and the Department of Finance (DOF) by November 1, 2026 identifying the successes and failures relating enrolling children from 18 months to three-years old in CSPP, subject to an appropriation for this purpose.
- 6) Requires that the provisions in 1) to 5) remain in effect until January 1, 2029, and as of that date are repealed.
- 7) Expands the eligibility for three- and four-year old children for both part-day and full-day CSPP to those who have a member of the household who is eligible to receive benefits from Medi-Cal, CalFresh, the California Food Assistance Program, the California Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC), the federal Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations, Head Start, Early Head Start, or any other designated means-tested government program, as determined by the CDE.
- 8) Requires a family to provide documentation of current enrollment in a program when establishing eligibility pursuant to (7) above, unless the agency has other means of obtaining

- verification of enrollment, and requires families qualifying under eligibility through this means to submit a self-certification of income for the purposes of prioritizing enrollment and calculating family fees.
- 9) Extends eligibility for CSPP from 12 months to 24 months, without requiring the family to have their eligibility or need recertified.
- 10) Authorizes a family eligible for CSPP services on the basis of the parent's employment to be eligible for the maximum certified hours of care based on the need for care, and specifies that the family is not required to report a change in employment schedule for at least 24 months.
- 11) Authorizes a family eligible for CSPP services on the basis of homelessness, and parents who are seeking employment or seeking permanent housing for family stability, to be eligible for no more than full-time service.
- 12) Authorizes the CDE to implement specified provisions through management bulletins until October 1, 2023, and requires the CDE to implement a rulemaking action to implement the changes by December 31, 2024.

Childcare programs administered by CDSS

- 13) Expands the eligibility for federal and state subsidized childcare programs administered by the CDSS to those families who have a member of the household who is eligible to receive benefits from Medi-Cal, CalFresh, the California Food Assistance Program, the WIC, the federal Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations, Head Start, Early Head Start, or any other designated means-tested government program, as determined by the CDSS.
- 14) Requires a family to provide documentation of current enrollment in a program when establishing eligibility pursuant to (13) above, unless the agency has other means of obtaining verification of enrollment, and requires families qualifying under eligibility through this means to submit a self-certification of income for the purposes of prioritizing enrollment and calculating family fees.
- 15) Requires that a family establishing eligibility for subsidized childcare be considered eligible for 24 months, without requiring the family to have their eligibility or need recertified.
- 16) Authorizes a family eligible for childcare services on the basis of the parent's employment to be eligible for the maximum certified hours of care based on the need for care, and specifies that the family is not required to report a change in employment schedule for at least 24 months.
- 17) Authorizes a family eligible for childcare services on the basis of homelessness, and parents who are seeking employment or seeking permanent housing for family stability, to be eligible for no more than full-time service.
- 18) Authorizes the CDSS to implement these changes through management bulletins or similar means until October 1, 2023, and requires the CDSS to initiate a rulemaking action to implement the changes by December 31, 2024.

- 19) Expresses findings and declarations regarding the importance of quality early learning experiences.
- 20) Other technical and clarifying changes.

EXISTING LAW:

- 1) Establishes the Early Education Act, to be administered by the CDE, and provides that the programs shall include, but not be limited to, part-day age and developmentally appropriate programs designed to facilitate the transition to kindergarten for three- and four-year-old children in educational development, health services, social services, nutritional services, parent education and parent participation, evaluation, and staff development. (Education Code (EC) Section 8207)
- 2) Establishes the "Child Care and Development Services Act" to provide child care and development services as part of a coordinated, comprehensive, and cost-effective system serving children from birth to 13 years old and their parents including a full range of supervision, health, and support services through full- and part-time programs. (Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC) Section 10207 et seq.)
- 3) Establishes eligibility for preschool programs administered by the CDE and requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) to adopt rules and regulations on eligibility, enrollment and priority of services needed for implementation. (EC 8208)
- 4) Specifies that in order for three- or four-year old children to be eligible for part-day CSPP, families must meet at least one of the following eligibility criteria: the family is a current aid recipient; income eligible; homeless; or one whose children are recipients of protective services, or whose children have been identified as being abused, neglected, or exploited, or at risk of being abused, neglected, or exploited. (EC 8208)
- 5) Specifies that a three- or four-year old child is eligible for full-day CSPP if the family meets one of the criteria in (3) and the family needs the childcare services for either of the following reasons:
 - i) Because the child is identified by a legal, medical, social services agency, an LEA liaison for homeless children and youth, a Head Start program, or an emergency or transitional shelter as a recipient of protective services, or is being neglected, abused, or exploited, or is at risk of neglect, abuse or exploitation, or is homeless.
 - ii) Because the parents are engaged in: vocational training leading directly to a recognized trade, paraprofession or profession; engaged in an educational program for English language learners, or to attain a high school diploma or general educational development certificate; employed or seeking employment; seeking permanent housing for family stability, or incapacitated. (EC 8208)
- 6) Authorizes a part-day CSPP to provide services to children in families whose income is no more than 15% above the income eligibility threshold after all eligible three- and four-year old children have been enrolled. Specifies that no more than 10% of children enrolled may be from families above the income threshold. (EC 8208)

- 7) Authorizes a part-day CSPP to enroll three- and four-year old children with exceptional needs from families above the income threshold after all eligible children have been enrolled, and specifies that these children do not count toward the 10% cap on over-income families. (EC 8208)
- 8) Authorizes a full-day CSPP, after all eligible children have been enrolled, to enroll three- and four-year old children from families who do not meet one of the requirements in (4)(ii) above. (EC 8208)
- 9) Authorizes a provider of a CSPP operating within the attendance boundary of a public school, not including a charter or magnet school, where at least 80% of enrolled pupils are eligible for free or reduced-price meals, to enroll four-year old children from families not meeting other eligibility requirements, as specified, with priority given to the lowest income families first. (EC 8217)
- 10) Defines "income eligible" as a family whose adjusted monthly income is at or below 85% of the State Median Income (SMI), adjusted for family size, and adjusted annually. For purposes of establishing ongoing eligibility, a family's adjusted monthly income must be at or below 85% of the SMI, adjusted for family size. Specifies that the Department of Finance (DOF) will calculate the applicable SMI by family size annually and provide the updated data to the CDE by March 1 of each year. (EC 8213)
- 11) Requires that, upon establishing initial eligibility, a family be considered eligible for CSPP services for no less than 12 months before having their eligibility or need recertified. (EC 8208)
- 12) Requires CSPP contractors to admit children based upon the following priorities, in order:
 - a) Children who are are recipients of child protective services or who are at risk of being neglected, abused, or exploited, as specified;
 - b) Eligible four-year old children who are not enrolled in a TK program, in order of lowest income first:
 - c) Eligible three-year old children;
 - d) Children from families with income no more than 15% above the income eligibility threshold, with priority to four-year old children, followed by three-year old children;
 - e) Children with exceptional needs from families above the income eligibility threshold, with priority to four-year old children, followed by three year-old children; and
 - f) For a program operating within the attendance boundary of a high-poverty school, any other four-year old child, as per (8) above. (EC 8211 and 8212)
- 13) Requires families to be assessed a single flat monthly fee for all state subsidized early childhood services received, including full-day CSPP, and requires that the SPI use the fee schedule developed in conjunction with the CDSS. (EC 8252)

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations Committee:

- 1) The CDE estimates ongoing General Fund costs of about \$1.5 million and nine positions for various administrative functions necessary to implement bill's changes to CSPP, including comprehensive trainings for staff, Infant Toddler Environment Rating Scales certification, data collection creation and reporting, and technical assistance for the field. The requirement for CDE to report to the Legislature identifying successes and failures relating to the implementation and effects of the bill's expansion would be subject to funding.
- 2) The additional categories of children who are eligible and the modification of categories of children that are given priority under the CSPP will likely result in an unknown loss in program savings for the state. This assumes that contractors are able to enroll additional children into the program.

COMMENTS:

This bill authorizes CSPP providers to serve children as young as 18 months; allows families to qualify for subsidized childcare, including CSPP, if they are enrolled in another means-tested government program; and extends eligibility for subsidized childcare from 12 months to 24 months, without requiring the family to recertify income or need for care.

Need for the bill. According to the author, "The first five years of a child's life shape the architecture of their brain, and build a foundation for future learning and success. Quality early learning experiences during the earliest years help set children on a path to thrive in school and life, while supporting working parents. Unfortunately, less than 1 in 5 children who are eligible for a state subsidized program are able to participate in one.

SB 1047 will allow children as young as 18 months to be served through the State Preschool Program. Additionally, this bill will facilitate enrollment for families and providers by expanding categorical eligibility to families who need child care services and who are already enrolled in CalFresh, Medi-Cal, WIC or Head Start while also allowing for 24-month continuous eligibility. These changes will reduce the paperwork and administrative burden on families and providers, while also allowing for more continuity of care for children."

California has a complex system of early childhood programs. California's subsidized early care and education (ECE) is made up of a complex system of programs serving children from birth through 13 years, funded through a mix of federal and state dollars, and administered through a mixed delivery system by LEAs, community-based providers, and family childcare providers including, but not limited to:

- General Child Care and Development Programs include center-based or family childcare home care, provide part or full-time care for children from 0-5 years and out-of-school care for school age children up to age 13 from income eligible families who have a need for care;
- Alternative Payment Programs (APP) provide voucher-based childcare subsidies to lowincome parents to access childcare through a wide range of providers. Includes vouchers offered through California's state welfare program, California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs), those for working families, as well as programs specifically for migrant children;

- CSPP provides center-based preschool for 3- and 4-year-old children from income eligible families, or who are otherwise eligible;
- Family Childcare Home Education Networks (FCCHENs) provide child care and
 development services in family child care home settings. CDE contracts with FCCHEN
 contractors to provide ongoing training and support to network providers in order to assist
 these family child care home providers in offering early education and child care to eligible
 families with children ages birth through 13 years of age;
- Head Start and Early Head Start are federally-funded preschool and child development programs serving children from families with incomes below the federal poverty level, and offer education, childcare, extensive family engagement, and wraparound services;

These programs are provided by a wide range of providers. As of September 30, 2021, California had:

- 14,964 licensed center-based childcare programs;
- 196 license-exempt center-based childcare programs;
- 28,098 licensed family childcare homes; and
- 30,575 license-exempt family childcare homes.

According to the CDE, California had approximately 841,000 licensed spaces for children from birth to age 12 in 2019. While, they note that not all children under five need non-parental care, many of the approximately 2.8 million children of this age do require childcare. Clearly California lacks the licensed capacity to meet the needs of children and families.

Transitional Kindergarten also serves 4-year olds. TK is the first year of a 2-year kindergarten program. California's Kindergarten Readiness Act of 2010 revised the cutoff date by which children must turn 5 for kindergarten entry in that year. The act established September 1 as the new kindergarten eligibility date, 3 months earlier than the previous date of December 2. The Kindergarten Readiness Act also established TK for all students affected by the birthdate eligibility change. Instead of enrolling in regular kindergarten, students who reach age 5 between September 2 and December 2 receive an "age and developmentally appropriate" experience in TK prior to entering kindergarten the following year.

The Budget Act of 2021 expands access to early education for 4-year olds by requiring that all LEAs offer a TK program to all eligible children by the 2025-26 school year. This is likely to significantly reduce the number of 4-year olds enrolling in CSPP. However, neither TK nor kindergarten is mandatory in California, thus not all eligible 4-year olds will be enrolled in TK. Some families may choose to have their children remain in CSPP or other childcare program that better meet their needs for full-day and full-year care or provides care during non-traditional hours. The Budget Act of 2021 also authorizes CSPP providers to offer wraparound care for children enrolled in TK.

The expansion of TK is likely to impact CSPP providers. Concerns have been raised about the impact of an expansion of TK on CSPP providers, particularly those community-based providers not affiliated with an LEA. If sufficient numbers of 4-year-olds are enrolled in TK rather than

CSPP, the CSPP contractors could experience significant drops in enrollment, jeopardizing their ability to earn their contracts, or to remain open. CSPP contracts held by LEAs may be relinquished if the LEA determines that operating a TK program is more financially viable than a CSPP. The loss of full-day, full-year CSPP programs could negatively impact parent choice and the ability of parents to find care that best meets the needs of the child and family.

Another factor cited by CSPP contractors is the disparity in the costs of serving preschool age children versus infants and toddlers, due to the differing ratio requirements, which impact staffing costs. Contractors note that the revenues associated with serving 4-year-olds contribute to offsetting the higher costs associated with caring for infants and toddlers. They express concern that without a sufficient number of 4-year-olds in their programs, the programs will not be financially viable in serving infants and toddlers, further exacerbating the shortage of infant and toddler childcare slots.

Clear need for additional infant and toddler childcare. Researchers report that children begin learning at birth and every interaction that young children have with a caregiver adds to their experiences and influences the rapid brain development that occurs in the first few years of life. The ability of families to access childcare programs staffed by highly skilled and experienced teachers can have a major impact on children's cognitive development. Nearly 1 in 5 infants in the U.S. live in poverty, leaving them at risk of falling behind before they can walk. The toxic stress associated with poverty can limit young children's exposure to positive interactions and harm brain development. Research shows that gaps in children's cognitive abilities by income are evident as early as 9 months and significantly widen by the age of 2.

According to *Getting Down to Facts II: Early Childhood Education in California* (PACE, 2018), the average annual cost of childcare for infants from birth through 2-years was \$8,462 for family child care and \$13,327 for care in a childcare center. California is 1 of the 10 least affordable states for infant care, costing an average of 51% of the median income of a single parent and 15% of the median income of two parents.

Only 12% of California's infants and toddlers attend a licensed program: 4% of infants and toddlers are in licensed childcare centers, and 8% are in licensed family child care homes, likely due to the high cost of care. There are large disparities in access to licensed care across counties. In Fresno County 9% of infants and toddlers are enrolled in licensed care, while in San Francisco 19% are enrolled.

This bill would propose to serve more toddlers in subsidized care by authorizing CSPP contractors to serve these younger children within their contracts. Although it is clear that there is a need to provide additional infant and toddler care, *the Committee may wish to consider* whether toddlers would be better served in a general childcare and development program and whether the addition of toddlers to CSPP would reduce the opportunities for three- and four-year olds to be served in CSPP, particularly given the low rate of enrollment of three-year olds in pre-kindergarten programs as described in the next section. As the bill proposes to increase the reimbursement rate for toddlers served in a CSPP, providers may be incentivized to serve more toddlers as the reimbursement rate may more than offset the increased cost due to the lower ratio requirements and other increased costs. This could impact access to CSPP for eligible three-year olds.

Meeting the needs of 3 and 4-year olds for high quality pre-kindergarten experiences. A 2017 report by the Learning Policy Institute, *Understanding California's Early Care and Education System*, estimates that 69% of eligible four-year-olds, and 38% of 3-year-olds statewide are enrolled in an early care and education program in California. These figures vary significantly from one county to another. This suggests that there is a large pool of unserved 3-year olds who could be enrolled by CSPP providers to compensate for the disenrollment of 4-year olds shifting to TK. As noted in the *Master Plan for Early Learning and Care* (2020), the shifting of 4-year olds to TK provides greater opportunities for two-year preschool experiences for income-eligible 3-year olds and children with disabilities.

CDE data on access to pre-kindergarten programs for fiscal year 2019-20 (pre-COVID)

Age	Total CA population	Eligible for CSPP	Served in CSPP; % of eligible	Served in TK	Estimated Head Start enrollments	# Unserved	% Unserved
3-year old	498,416	303,603	40,484 (13%)	n/a	32,866	425,066	85%
4-year old	507,294	316,917	101,583 (32%)	88,883	35,041	281,787	56%
Total	1,005,710	620,520	142,067 (23%)	88,883	67,907	706,853	70%

Source: CDE Prekindergarten Fact Sheet 2022

Research confirms the value of high-quality pre-kindergarten (Pre-K) experiences. The research report, Puzzling it Out: The Current State of Scientific Knowledge on Pre-Kindergarten Effects (Phillips, 2017) states, "Educators in K-12 school systems are faced with wide disparities in skill levels of entering kindergarteners, which means that all too many children are already far behind many of their peers. Findings in developmental science point toward the importance of early-life experiences in shaping brain development and suggest that if we knew how to provide these experiences in our early education programs, we could have a lifelong impact on children's success." Findings include:

- Children attending a diverse array of state and school district Pre-K programs are more ready
 for school at the end of their Pre-K year than children who do not attend Pre-K.
 Improvements in academic areas such as literacy and numeracy are most common; the
 smaller number of studies of social-emotional and self-regulatory development generally
 show more modest improvements in those areas;
- Studies of different groups of preschoolers often find greater improvement in learning at the end of the Pre-K year for economically disadvantaged children and dual language learners (DLLs) than for more advantaged and English-proficient children;
- Pre-K programs are not all equally effective. Several effectiveness factors may be at work in the most successful programs. One such factor supporting early learning is a well

implemented, evidence-based curriculum. Coaching for teachers, as well as efforts to promote orderly but active classrooms, may also be helpful; and

• Children's early learning trajectories depend on the quality of their learning experiences not only before and during their Pre-K year, but also following the Pre-K year. Classroom experiences early in elementary school can serve as charging stations for sustaining and amplifying Pre-K learning gains.

There is also a substantial body of research that indicates that high-impact preschool programs produce especially meaningful benefits for children whose backgrounds and needs have historically put them at risk for falling behind their peers before and after school entry. High-quality preschool often has larger impacts on school readiness for children who need it most, including children experiencing poverty, children of color, children who are DLLs, and children with disabilities.

Establishing eligibility for subsidized childcare. Under current law a family is eligible for subsidized childcare if they meet at least one requirement in each of two areas:

- A current aid recipient, is income eligible, homeless, or whose children are, or at risk of being, abused, neglected or exploited; and
- Needs the childcare services because the child is homeless; a recipient of child protective services; being neglected, abused or exploited; or because the parent(s) are engaged in specified education or training, employed or seeking employment, seeking permanent housing, or incapacitated.

State regulations specify the detailed and extensive methods by which these requirements are to be verified by the applicable agency prior to verifying a family's eligibility for services. These lead to significant burdens on families to provide the necessary documentation, and on agency staff to verify eligibility.

This bill deems recipients of specified means-tested government programs, like Medi-Cal, CalFresh and Head Start, as eligible for subsidized childcare, including CSPP. This essentially creates direct certification of eligibility for these families. A similar process is used to deem TK – grade 12 students in families who are recipients of CalFresh as eligible for free meals or milk without completing an application. This streamlined eligibility may increase demand for subsidized childcare while the number of childcare slots is not increased.

This change aligns with other streamlining efforts underway. The DSS is currently developing a Statewide Verification Hub (SVH) to streamline the eligibility verification process for many programs with initial efforts focusing on CalFresh, CalWORKs, Medi-Cal, and childcare. According to the DSS website, "While upholding Californians' privacy and security, the new IT effort will develop a modernized and leverageable Hub that will connect eligibility case management systems with near real-time data sources and federally-mandated Income Eligibility Verification System data matches. The SVH Project is a multi-department effort to bring key programs together with the common goal of producing verification data to support fast and accurate eligibility determinations for means-tested programs."

Similarly, Head Start authorizes categorical eligibility for families receiving SNAP benefits, known as CalFresh in California.

Income eligibility. As noted above, one of the factors impacting eligibility for CSPP, as well as other childcare programs, is income eligibility. Currently, a family is income eligible if their adjusted monthly income is at or below 85% of the state median income (SMI), adjusted for family size. For example, a family of four is eligible for subsidized care if they earned \$7,069 per month or less in the 2020-21 fiscal year. Priority for enrollment based upon income eligibility is given to families with the lowest gross monthly income.

Parents are required to provide proof of income and contractors are required to document family income. This bill would permit families eligible due to their enrollment in a means-tested government program to self-certify income for the purpose of prioritizing enrollment (for lowest income first) and the calculation of family fees.

Extending period of eligibility. Due to recent changes in state law, upon establishing initial eligibility, a family is considered to meet all eligibility and need requirements for not less than 12 months and is eligible to receive those services for not less than 12 months before having their eligibility or need recertified, and is not required to report changes to income or other changes for at least 12 months. However, families may voluntarily report changes in income in order to reduce family fees. This bill would expand eligibility from 12 months to 24 months under specified conditions.

Arguments in support. The Child Care Alliance of Los Angeles states, "From birth to age 5, a child's brain develops more rapidly than any other time in life. Young children's experiences shape the architecture of the brain and set the foundation for lifelong health, well-being, and success. Unfortunately, disparities in learning and development start at birth, fueled by the opportunity gaps and toxic stress caused by poverty, inequality and adverse experiences. Research shows that high-quality early learning mitigates disparities, improves young children's language, social skills, and kindergarten readiness, and has significant long-term benefits.

California currently allows too many infants and toddlers from low-income backgrounds to fall through the cracks without access to the high-quality child care and crucial supports that they need to thrive. Approximately only 10% of California's infants and toddlers who are incomeeligible for subsidized child care are enrolled. SB 1047 would address this issue by expanding access and eligibility for childcare programs.

SB 1047 will expand access to high-quality early learning and care programs by leveraging existing state and provider resources. This is particularly true for infants and toddlers, where the unmet need is most acute. Considering COVID-19's devastating impact on families and early childhood providers, we must build a stronger, more equitable early learning and care system for California's children, families and providers."

Recommended Committee amendments. Staff recommends that the bill be amended as follows:

1) Delay the implementation of the authorization for CSPP providers to enroll children as young as 18 months of age until the beginning of the new fiscal and contract year on July 1, 2023.

- 2) Extend 24-month eligibility to the end of the program year when it expires within the program year, to provide continuity to the child and family.
- 3) Authorize CDE to utilize management bulletins to implement provisions to December 1, 2023.

Related legislation. SB 50 (Limón) of the 2021-22 Session would have expanded the range of types of childcare and early learning services that a CSPP contracting agency may provide. This bill was vetoed by the Governor with the following message:

Expanding access to high quality early learning and care for babies and toddlers is a priority for my Administration. That's why I worked to make universal TK a reality, strengthen our paid family leave policies, and expand childcare slots for children in California. Unfortunately, the timing of this bill is premature as it presupposes how the State Preschool Program will be modified to account for the implementation of universal TK. Next January, modifications will be proposed to the State Preschool Program in the 2022 Budget to align the program with the Master Plan for Early Learning and Care. I appreciate the author's leadership on this issue and look forward to working with her on improving the State Preschool Program and serving more of California's youngest children.

SB 976 (Leyva) of the 2021-22 Session would rename CSPP as *Universal Preschool* and express the intent of the Legislature to provide access to free universal preschool to all families regardless of family income, subject to an appropriation for this purpose, through a mixed-delivery system; authorize individual family childcare home providers and Head Start agencies to offer universal preschool; require the convening of a stakeholder council on universal preschool; remove the requirement for the levying of family fees within the universal preschool program; require that financial support be provided to current and aspiring preschool staff in obtaining required credentials and degrees; and expand the scope of services provided to families by resource and referral agencies (R&Rs).

SB 89 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review) Chapter 24, Statutes of 2020, authorizes the transfer of child care and development programs, other than CSPP, currently administered by the CDE to the DSS effective July 1, 2021.

AB 123 (McCarty) of the 2019-20 Session would have established the Pre-K for All Act; expanded the eligibility for CSPP; increased the reimbursement rate for the CSPP and required a portion of the increase to be used to increase teacher pay; required CSPP lead teachers to hold a bachelor's degree by a specified date; and established a program to provide financial support to childcare workers pursuing a bachelor's degree. This bill was held in the Senate Appropriations Committee.

AB 167 (Rubio) of the 2019-20 Session would have created the "California Partnership for Infants and Toddlers" to provide grants to specified providers serving infants and toddlers, subject to an appropriation, if they agree to meet specified standards, and to provide full-day, full-year care. Also stated legislative intent to provide funding to provide childcare for an additional 20,000 infants and toddlers. This bill was held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

AB 194 (Reyes) of the 2019-20 Session would have required, upon appropriation, \$1 billion to be invested in improving eligible children's and families' access to subsidized child care services. This bill was held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

AB 1754 (McCarty) of the 2017-18 Session would have required the state to provide all eligible low-income 4-year-old children with access to early care and education programs. This bill was held in the Senate Appropriations Committee.

AB 47 (McCarty) of the 2015-16 Session would have established the Preschool for All Act of 2015 and required, on or before June 30, 2018, all eligible children who are not enrolled in TK to have access to the CSPP the year before they enter kindergarten, if their parents wish to enroll them and contingent upon the appropriation in the annual Budget Act for this purpose. This bill was vetoed by Governor Brown, who stated:

Last year's education omnibus trailer bill already codified the intent to make preschool and other full-day, full year early education and care opportunities available to all low-income children. The discussion on expanding state preschool - which takes into account rates paid to providers as well as access and availability for families - should be considered in the budget process, as it is every year. A bill that sets an arbitrary deadline, contingent on a sufficient appropriation, is unnecessary.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Early Edge California (Co-sponsor)

Everychild California (Co-sponsor)

Kidango (Co-sponsor)

Association of California School Administrators

California Association for the Education of Young Children

California School Employees Association

Child Care Alliance of Los Angeles

First 5 Association of California

First 5 Santa Clara County

Fluentseeds

Good2know Partners

Isla Vista Youth Projects

League of California Cities

Los Angeles County Office of Education

Los Angeles Unified School District

Mission Neighborhood Centers, INC.

Optimal Solutions Consulting

Peach - Partnerships for Education, Articulation and Coordination Through Higher Education Readynation

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

1 individual

Opposition

None on file

Analysis Prepared by: Debbie Look / ED. / (916) 319-2087